Tuesday, June 7, 2016

My Review: Bravely Default

Bravely Default is a game that needs no New Game+ mode. It is a new game plus mode all in itself.

It also came out a bunch of years ago, so I'm probably not spoiling anything. I might be. You get to brave and default in the game, which is probably where the title came from. I mostly braved, except sometimes I defaulted a bit first THEN braved. Sword, axe, spear, doesn't matter, as long as I default before braving, or don't default at all...

The game was apparently going to be a Final Fantasy game, which I guess means you were going to Final then Fantasy, or Fantasy then Final? The strategy would be more confusing there, not that brave/default are perfect terms. Still, I was apparently good at the game: by the time I finished Chapter 2, I had finished the town you rebuild because SPOILERS you rebuild a town and it lets you buy the penultimate gear if you have a lot of moneys, and by the time I finished Chapter 3, I had all the moneys. By the time I finished Chapter 4, I had all the jobs (except one you couldn't get until later) and by the time I finished Chapter 5, I had all the jobs maxed out. I now basically wander the world looking for bosses, then hit them with axes 11 times. (and then 8 more if necessary). I default first, though. My healer ambles around the battlefield looking for interesting flowers while we fight.

I'm only on Chapter 6 and there are probably two more chapters? But that's enough chapters, probably. I'm looking forward to finishing it, so I can obtain and play Bravely Second, which is either a sequel or a very strange coincidence of naming. My one fear of the ending is that the Spunky Rebel will end up romancing the Creepy Womanizer. She can totally do better, but the other two characters in the party have already been paired off. I fear it's inevitable.

Still, you get to brave AND default. 10/10.

No comments:

Post a Comment